The Sidney Prize


The Sidney Prize is an award given to people or organisations that have made a difference in Australia. This can include a person’s contribution to the arts or their work with communities. The prize is decided on a national basis and is presented at a ceremony each year. This year the prize has been awarded to the Black Lives Matter movement, an international organisation devoted to human rights and non-violence. It has also been awarded to a number of companies and organisations who have contributed to the economy of Australia.

The Sydney Prize recognises an individual’s work in a variety of fields, including the arts, science, and community service. It is also open to people of any age or nationality, and can be awarded for a variety of reasons, from academic achievement to personal attributes or community service. Often the winner of the Sydney Prize is someone who has been able to inspire others through their work.

In 2004, New York Times columnist David Brooks and William Zinsser won the SS Sidney Prize for their essay on student hypersensitivity, which they argue leads to mental health problems and prevents students from being prepared for the real world. The foundation also awards a monthly SS Sidney journalism award to writers for investigative reporting in service of the common good.

Known for his acting roles in films such as Lilies of the Field and Guess Who’s Coming to Dinner, Sidney Poitier was an important influence on contemporary culture and social change. He was also a respected human rights activist who worked to promote equal opportunities for blacks in America and abroad. The prestigious Sidney Prize is named in his honour, and the prize money is used to support young talent.

The 2023 University of Sydney Sleek Geeks Science Eureka Prize is a short film that communicates a scientific concept in an engaging way. It is open to Australian citizens and residents and the winning entry will be announced in November 2023. The prize is supported by the Malcolm Robertson Foundation and is named after renowned author Neilma Gantner.

The Sidney Prize is an annual award given to an outstanding book in the history of Christianity. The winner is selected by the committee of the Omohundro Institute of Early American History and Culture and the University of North Carolina Press. The book must be published in the previous calendar year and make a significant contribution to the scholarship of its subject area. The publisher is required to publish an introduction and index of the book. The prize is worth $2,500. The committee reserves the right not to award the prize if none of the books nominated are judged worthy. Those who have been nominated for the prize will be notified by email or phone. The prize is a major opportunity for emerging scholars in the study of the early church. The winner receives a cash prize and the publication of their work in the History of Christianity series at Oxford University Press.